Inspiration | First look – Winter Wedding

While I would love to put up my holiday decorations on October 1st – I wait patiently to set things up until after Thanksgiving and with Thanksgiving now wayyyy behind us, I feel like I can share some holiday inspiration with you.

When I first started play with the idea of doing my first styled shoot I was so full of ideas! It was the end of summer and August in Minnesota can be hot, sticky and just plain gross. So of course I toyed with the idea of bright colors, cute picnic ideas, bohemian decorations, but then I realized I’m a practical person. I’m so practical that I decided to double dip on the shoot and get some pictures for our holiday cards! These are things I probably shouldn’t admit as a business owner, whatever.

For my first look inspiration shoot I thought to myself:  “what would be better than a winter wedding where the soon-to-be-newlyweds can meet up by a cozy fire, enjoy each other’s company over some hot (spiked?) cider and a friendly game of cribbage?”

Nothing. Nothing would be better! In fact, I’d like a redo of my wedding please.

Each season has its winning features, especially here in Minnesota where we have 4 very distinct sections of the year. Winter is spectacular as you get to play with deep, warm and cozy colors but can incorporate stark whites and rich golds into the pallets as well. I tromped down to our local flower market and got some red spray roses and headed outside to get some berries off my hawthorn tree and picked up some pinecones from my front yard. And then I went to town with some gold spray paint – which is officially my most favorite thing in the world right now.

You may be asking – where can I get one of those awesome wreaths? The wreath, my friends, can be yours! You just need one awesome old book you’re willing to rip to shreds, a hot glue gun (which can be found at your local Target), tonnnssss of hot glue sticks and an old cardboard box you can cut into a circle. I followed these instructions but really it turned into a free for all after a couple hours. I recommend pouring a glass of wine, cut out 5 million pages, turn on Netflix and find a new show to binge on (I recommend Master of None – OMG AZIZ!!! <3) while you roll and roll and roll and roll all the millions of pages into little cones. My husband had a great idea: maybe invest in krumkake rollers! Stick them on the cardboard circle, honestly in any way you can figure out to stick them on there, and it will magically look beautiful. It’s really quiet amazing.

Creating the beautiful winter wonderland was spectacular and very exciting for me as someone dabbling with the idea of styling events in a few years. There is a lot to learn about styling, colors and how to go about finding the right settings/vendors here in Minneapolis. Thankfully, my good buddies over at Gentleman & a Lady photography were able to help me out, their imaginative tricks with lighting and great angles really brought everything together.

Need help with your winter wedding? I still have a few dates in January open, head to my website to reach out.

 

Leave a Reply

